Happy New Year

The year 2008 is one of those years that many people are glad to see end. With the economic melt down leading the news throughout the year, most people are ready for 2008 to be over with the hope that 2009 will be better.

In some respects I am one of them. I approach every New Year optimistically. I see it full of potential, like a blank canvas just waiting for a master piece to be painted on it. That is how I approached the start of 2008. I had big hopes and dreams for 2008.

It did not take very long for my plans, focus and perspective to change. I began 2008 fluctuating between 200 and 205 pounds and experiencing some annoying health symptoms that I could not explain. Two weeks into 2008 I discovered what was causing those symptoms. I was told I had heart disease.

With the New Year not even a month old all my plans and dreams for 2008 suddenly took a back seat to getting my health under control. I was able to accomplish some of what I had hoped, but my number one priority was my health.

Many people make New Year’s resolutions to lose weight and start exercising but seldom accomplish that goal. While I never made those part of my “official” New Year’s resolutions, I did have those as goals for several years. I wanted to lose a few pounds and get in better shape, but I never did anything to accomplish it.

But something happened in 2008 that finally made those goals come to pass. I am pleased to say that I am starting 2009 in much better physical shape than I did 2008. I’m down to 165 pounds and am much more health conscience than I ever have been in my life. So why was I able to accomplish this goal when I did not start out the year with that as part of my plans? My beliefs changed.

Once I found out that my eating habits and sedentary life style had led to my acquiring heart disease I believed that a proper diet and exercise was a necessary part of living a long, prosperous life. But the change did not come simply by my newly found belief. That belief needed to be accompanied by the corresponding action to bring about the real change I desired.

In other words, I needed to live what I believed. Many people believe that they need to eat better but few people live that belief. We would all do better if we would “just live it.” If we would just live what we say we believe we would accomplish so much more with our life.

This is true not only in our physical life but in our spiritual life as well. Most Christians know what the Bible says. Most Christians know the difference between right and wrong and how the Lord has called each of us to live the Christian life. We believe what God’s Word tells us but our actions do not always follow that belief. We need to “just live it!” Just live what we believe and our life, our community, and our world would be so much better.

Let me give you just one example of how to “just live it” in 2009 that can help you reach the full potential that lies ahead of you in this New Year.

Chances are that someone hurt you in 2008. Someone did something to cause you pain, to hurt your feelings, to cause you economic stress, or commit some offense against you. You have been carrying that hurt and animosity against the person who caused it with you through 2008.

As Christians we know what the Bible says about the need to forgive those who hurt us.

Matthew 6:14-15 says, “For if you forgive men when they sin against you, your heavenly Father will also forgive you. But if you do not forgive men their sins, your Father will not forgive your sins.”

Luke 17:3 says, “If your brother sins, rebuke him, and if he repents, forgive him. If he sins against you seven times in a day, and seven times comes back to you and says, ‘I repent,’ forgive him.”

And Colossians 3:13 tells us, “Bear with each other and forgive whatever grievances you may have against one another. Forgive as the Lord forgave you.”

To “just live it” in 2009 we need to lay the hurts from 2008 aside, forgive those who hurt us and start 2009 with a clean slate. Don’t let the hurts of the past continue to torment you and distract you from reaching your full God-given potential in 2009. 2009 is here! 2008 is behind us. It’s time to move forward.

There are many other ways we can “just live it” in 2009. As the New Year begins, full of potential let us take what we believe and put it into action in all areas of our life. In 2009 let’s just live it!

Serving Christ and His Family,

Pastor Ken

One Response to Happy New Year

  1. Abigail says:

    Thank you for that challenge. There were definitely some things in there that I needed to read for myself. I needed the reminder.

    Shalom,
    Abigail

Leave a comment